Welcome to the glorious counties of

East Sussex and West Sussex

Two of the prettiest counties in England!


General Information


Sussex used to be one reasonably sized county until the politicians divided it up into East Sussex and West Sussex – for administrative purposes, you understand. This site will show you East Sussex and West Sussex in two separate sections.

Sussex, the Land of the South Saxons was described by the BBC as being ‘swamped with areas of outstanding beauty’ come along and have a look…..

On the south coast of England, it could be said that East Sussex was where our modern history began – When William the Conqueror arrived from Normandy in 1066 he landed on the East Sussex coast and from this point proceeded to bring ‘civilisation’ to the country

Geographical Location

East Sussex extends along the south east coast England from Rye in the east to Brighton in the west. Inland it seems to wander aimlessly from a point on the coast between Rye and Dungeness up towards Tunbridge Wells then over to not quite East Grinstead. Once it has missed East Grinstead it heads for Brighton carefully missing all the largish towns on the way, almost as if ‘townies’ couldn’t be trusted to live in a ‘new’ county!

The administrative centre of East Sussex is Lewes, now famous, along with Uckfield, for being flooded in rather spectacular fashion in the autumn of 2000. Lewes is also famous for its 5th November celebrations.

Click here to see our Lewes page

East Sussex